On: Dealing With Other People.

People Suck

The Truth is usually written in black and white

To anyone who knows me its no surprise when I say: “I don’t like other people” Hell, I don’t even like myself that much. That’s not to say I hate everyone, it just means that when confronted with new people its more often an experience that doesn’t lead to any lasting (good) impressions.

In my head I chalk this up to being because ‘other people’ are unreliable and uninteresting but, the other part of my mind likes to be a little more reasonable and accepts that maybe the problem lies within myself somewhat.

The first issue is that I missed the pop culture boat. When I was younger I just didn’t care about listening to popular music or anything. I spent the week in the city with my mother and went to school (which ultimately resulted in watching 90’s sitcoms and PBS) and the weekends in a more suburban area relaxing (which consisted of mostly talking and playing games). What was hot on the charts didn’t really come up unless it was some sort of sweeping phenomenon like Michael Jackson. So when I entered middle school and high school I was behind on the Jonses.

The Second was that I had no interest in catching up. By the time I was high school people were established in their artist and 99% of them consisted of what was on the radio at the time. It wasn’t until my second year of high school til’ I discovered the Pretenders and totally immersed myself with their music. In the four years of high school I caught myself up on some near 30 years of music, I didn’t have time to get into the ludicrous reaggeton and rap crazes. This of course made me the odd fellow in school, not to mention my homosexuality (which became the craze at some point but, even then I wasn’t very interested in other people), the odd fellows in the school still weren’t my friends.

Ultimately I didn’t care anymore, I had been alienated from people my age over what interested me, alienated from the Gay community cause I didn’t share anything in common with the general community and the same for the Black community. My life as a recluse really was solidified.

When I went to college I didn’t think it would be more interesting, and it wasn’t. I didn’t need to interact with anyone anymore and there as no one to interact with anyway. My specific taste in music and culture still was putting me at odds with people. Except this time people were more understanding about it. instead of flat out rejection I got a series of slow rejection, whether it was people pitying me or just generally losing interest in trying to figure out my habits over time I don’t know but, the general pattern was meeting someone who was interested in me in then in 6 weeks tapering off into barely speaking.

So at this point in life, I’ve given up on other people, if I meet someone interesting I’m jaded enough  to know that patterns exist for reasons. The Human race is a slave to its previous actions, they’ll never move away from the things they’ve done because its a scary thing and with the world they’ve created there’s good reason to fear a lot of things.

 

Twitter.com/KeithBCovingon

Facebook.com/Raganork8

One Response to “On: Dealing With Other People.”

  1. Walter Harris Says:

    This is something that I can definitely relate to. I’ve just about given up on the human race as a whole. For the most part, I’d rather be alone with my computer and my smartphones. Most people are mean, ignorant, selfish, and just generally rude. During the rare times that I do leave the house, I don’t bother speaking to people or even acknowledge that they are there. Most of the time when I do happen look at someone, I always get that “what the fuck are you looking at” glare.
    And as for conversation, FORGET ABOUT IT!! Most of the time people are talking about something that I’m not even remotely interested in. And when I do try to talk to people about anything, usually anything that I say flies above their head and the conversation dissolves within a matter of minutes. Being a homosexual doesn’t really help. I keep that to myself for the most part because people are always looking for something to use against you no matter what the case. So in closing, I”d like to say that not all people are assholes, but the majority of the people that aRE seem to stand out like a sore thumb.

Leave a Reply

